2016 Awards: Winning Taiwan Aboriginal Works

Taiwan Today reports (Awards):

The winners of Taiwan Aboriginal Literary Awards organized by Taiwan’s Ministry of Education were honored in a ceremony Jan. 20 at Hualien Cultural Creative Industries Park.

The 36 recipients are from the indigenous tribes of Amis, Atayal, Bunun, Kahabu, Paiwan, Pazeh, Puyuma, Rukai, Saisiyat, Sediq, Truku and Tsou. They finished atop a 99-strong field in the categories of essay, novella, poetry and translation.

Winners include “Words from Elders” by Lowking Nowbucyang of the Truku, the novella “Stories of Fataan and Tafalong” by Sing Olam of the Amis, and the poem “Mourning River” by Rucu Pawan of the Atayal. The biannual awards were founded in 2007.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s